Center for Power Optimization of Electro-thermal Systems

Right Problem.

Right Time.

Right Team.


What We Do

POETS’s ambitious, innovative approach to improving the power density of next generation electro-thermal systems involves integrating traditionally separate research efforts in mechanical, electrical, and materials engineering across different technical domains.

Learn more about us

Did You Know?

Illinois ECE Professor Xiuling Li, Donald Bigger Willett Professor in Engineering, and Jianjun Cheng, affiliate faculty member, are two of the 175 academic innovators elected to the 2020 class of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI) Fellows. NAI fellow status is the highest professional distinction awarded solely to academic inventors.

Center Director Prof. Andrew Alleyne was elected as a 2019 Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science


Dr. Nenad Miljkovic was honored with the prestigious title of Kritzer Faculty Scholar.

Miljkovic Kritzer Scholar

Dr. Alan Mantooth received the IEEE Modeling and Control Technical Achievement Award from the IEEE Power Electronics Society at the award dinner in Toronto on June 19th during the Control and Modeling in Power Electronics (COMPEL) Workshop.


Dr. Herschel Pangborn received the ASME Energy Systems Technical Committee Best Paper Award for his paper titled "Cooperativity and Hierarchical MPC of State - Constrained Switched Power Flow Systems" at the The American Control Conference this July.

Center Director Prof. Andrew Alleyne was honored with the ASME Thurston Lecture Award and Air Force Public Service Award.